Hyslop Hands thousand plus petition to RBS on Whitburn branch closure


Hyslop Hands thousand plus petition to RBS on Whitburn branch closure

Fiona Hyslop MSP for the Linlithgow Constituency handed over a petition objecting to Whitburn RBS branch closure with 1,141 signatures to senior RBS management as they visited Whitburn at Fiona’s invitation to meet local community groups and representatives in her Whitburn Constituency Office on Friday May 19th.

Fiona said;

“I invited local community groups to meet with RBS senior management in Whitburn Constituency office and we had a frank discussion about the strength of feeling in the community and the particular circumstances in Whitburn.

“I organised a petition with the help of local traders which saw 1,141 people sign in support for a RBS rethink and I thank everyone who signed it. RBS addressed many of the concerns but agreed to provide the group with more information on the points we raised and we made clear to RBS that people and traders are really at a loss to understand why an apparently busy branch has to close.”

“RBS made clear that there is little if no prospect of changing their minds which is a huge blow and is deeply disappointing. RBS stated that customers will be able to bank at the post office but there is still concern about how this will suit people with access issues and the volume of customers involved.

“RBS also stated they are open to serious discussions about the future use of the building and that needs to be addressed. Not everyone can use online or telephone banking and with the 20/X20 bus now withdrawn by FirstBus there is now no direct bus link to the nearest RBS branch in Bathgate.

Fiona concluded ” I will continue to fight for my constituents interests but we need to be realistic about the future and I will work with other community groups and representatives in doing so.”

Attending the meeting at Fiona Hyslop MSP’s office in Whitburn

Fiona Hyslop MSP (Chair)

Mike Crow, Head of UK Affairs, Royal Bank of Scotland

Debbie Pow, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Bank of Scotland Edinburgh

Anthony Green, Director, Business Banking

Councillor Jim Dickson, Scottish National Party

Councillor Kirsteen Sullivan, Scottish Labour Party

Alex Smith, Whitburn Traders Association

Tracy Johnston, Whitburn & District Community Council

Ben Murphy, Whitburn Community Development Trust